Robert

 

Robert moved to Ouray in 1977 and during the past 42 years has been the owner of The Sandman and Buckskin Booksellers. Robert graduated from Millsaps College in Mississippi and went to graduate school for geology in Lawrence, Kansas. He is the only person in the United States who makes sand bottles using natural sands, which you can find at the bookshop. Robert’s passions are geology and the minerals of the San Juan mountains. He has a son, Ian, a graphic artist, who lives in Los Angeles.

 

 

 

Dune Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780441013593
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Ace - August 2nd, 2005

Frank Herbert’s classic masterpiece—a triumph of the imagination and one of the bestselling science fiction novels of all time.

Set on the desert planet Arrakis, Dune is the story of the boy Paul Atreides, heir to a noble family tasked with ruling an inhospitable world where the only thing of value is the “spice” melange, a drug capable of extending life and enhancing consciousness. Coveted across the known universe, melange is a prize worth killing for....

When House Atreides is betrayed, the destruction of Paul’s family will set the boy on a journey toward a destiny greater than he could ever have imagined. And as he evolves into the mysterious man known as Muad’Dib, he will bring to fruition humankind’s most ancient and unattainable dream. 

A stunning blend of adventure and mysticism, environmentalism and politics, Dune won the first Nebula Award, shared the Hugo Award, and formed the basis of what is undoubtedly the grandest epic in science fiction.


Magic Lessons: The Prequel to Practical Magic (The Practical Magic Series #1) Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781982108847
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Simon & Schuster - October 6th, 2020

Where does the story of the Owens bloodline begin? In an unforgettable novel that traces a centuries-old curse to its source, beloved author Alice Hoffman unveils the story of Maria Owens, accused of witchcraft in Salem, and matriarch of a line of the amazing Owens women and men featured in Practical Magic and The Rules of Magic.


House of Earth and Blood (Crescent City) Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9781635577020
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Bloomsbury Publishing - March 2nd, 2021

Sarah J. Maas’s New York Times bestselling Crescent City series begins with House of Earth and Blood, which follows the story of half-Fae and half-human Bryce Quinlan as she seeks revenge in a contemporary fantasy world of magic, danger, and searing romance. With unforgettable characters, sizzling romance, and page-turning suspense!


To Sleep in a Sea of Stars Cover Image
$29.99
ISBN: 9781250762849
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Tor Books - September 15th, 2020

During a routine survey mission on an uncolonized planet, Kira finds an alien relic. At first she’s delighted, but elation turns to terror when the ancient dust around her begins to move. While Kira faces her own horrors, Earth and its colonies stand upon the brink of annihilation. Now, Kira might be humanity’s greatest and final hope.


The Splendid and the Vile: A Saga of Churchill, Family, and Defiance During the Blitz Cover Image
$32.00
ISBN: 9780385348713
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Crown - February 25th, 2020

The Splendid and the Vile takes readers back to a time of true leadership, when, in the face of unrelenting horror, Churchill’s eloquence, courage, and perseverance bound a country, and a family, together.


The Nightingale: A Novel Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250080400
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: St. Martin's Griffin - April 25th, 2017

With courage, grace, and powerful insight, bestselling author Kristin Hannah captures the epic panorama of World War II and illuminates an intimate part of history seldom seen: the women’s war. 


The Alchemist Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062315007
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HarperOne - April 15th, 2014

The Alchemist tells the mystical story of Santiago, an Andalusian shepherd boy who yearns to travel in search of a worldly treasure. His quest leads him to riches far different and more satisfying than he imagined.


A Monster Calls: Inspired by an idea from Siobhan Dowd Cover Image
By Patrick Ness, Jim Kay (Illustrator)
$12.00
ISBN: 9780763660659
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Candlewick - March 12th, 2013

The monster in Conor’s backyard is not the one he expected—the one from the nightmare he’s had every night since his mother started her treatments. This monster is ancient. And wild. And it wants something. From the final idea of award-winning author Siobhan Dowd — whose premature death from cancer prevented her from writing it herself—

Patrick Ness has spun a darkly funny novel of mischief and loss.


Annals of the Former World Cover Image
$22.00
ISBN: 9780374518738
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux - June 15th, 2000

Twenty years ago, when John McPhee began his journeys across the United States, he planned to describe a cross section of North America at about the 40th parallel, exploring the science and the style of the geologists he traveled with. The structure of the book never changed, but its breadth caused him to complete it in stages, under the title Annals of the Former World, winner of the 1999 Pulitzer Prize for Nonfiction.


The Boy, the Mole, the Fox and the Horse Cover Image
$22.99
ISBN: 9780062976581
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HarperOne - October 22nd, 2019

Charlie Mackesy offers inspiration and hope in uncertain times in this beautiful book based on his famous quartet of characters. Radiant with Mackesy’s warmth and gentle wit, The Boy, the Mole, the Fox, and the Horse blends hand-written narrative with dozens of drawings. A modern classic in the vein of The Tao of Pooh, The Alchemist, and The Giving Tree, this charming keepsake will be treasured for generations to come.


The Dog Stars (Vintage Contemporaries) Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9780307950475
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Vintage - May 7th, 2013

Hig survived the flu that killed everyone he knows. His wife is gone, his friends are dead. But when a random transmission somehow beams through his radio, the voice ignites a hope deep inside him that a better life—something like his old life—exists.


The Dovekeepers: A Novel Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9781501103711
Availability: Hard to Find - Unlikely to be Available
Published: Pocket Books - March 17th, 2015

Nearly 2,000 years ago, nine hundred Jews held out for months against armies of Romans in the Judean desert. According to the historian Josephus, two women and five children survived. Based on this event, Hoffman spins a tale of four bold, resourceful women—the dovekeepers.