Robert

 

Robert moved to Ouray in 1977 and during the past 42 years has been the owner of The Sandman and Buckskin Booksellers. Robert graduated from Millsaps College in Mississippi and went to graduate school for geology in Lawrence, Kansas. He is the only person in the United States who makes sand bottles using natural sands, which you can find at the bookshop. Robert’s passions are geology and the minerals of the San Juan mountains. He has a son, Ian, a graphic artist, who lives in Los Angeles.

 

 

 

A Monster Calls: Inspired by an idea from Siobhan Dowd Cover Image
By Patrick Ness, Jim Kay (Illustrator)
$12.00
ISBN: 9780763660659
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Candlewick - March 12th, 2013

The monster in Conor’s backyard is not the one he expected—the one from the nightmare he’s had every night since his mother started her treatments. This monster is ancient. And wild. And it wants something. From the final idea of award-winning author Siobhan Dowd — whose premature death from cancer prevented her from writing it herself—

Patrick Ness has spun a darkly funny novel of mischief and loss.


Annals of the Former World Cover Image
$22.00
ISBN: 9780374518738
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux - June 15th, 2000

Twenty years ago, when John McPhee began his journeys across the United States, he planned to describe a cross section of North America at about the 40th parallel, exploring the science and the style of the geologists he traveled with. The structure of the book never changed, but its breadth caused him to complete it in stages, under the title Annals of the Former World, winner of the 1999 Pulitzer Prize for Nonfiction.


The Boy, the Mole, the Fox and the Horse Cover Image
$22.99
ISBN: 9780062976581
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HarperOne - October 22nd, 2019

Charlie Mackesy offers inspiration and hope in uncertain times in this beautiful book based on his famous quartet of characters. Radiant with Mackesy’s warmth and gentle wit, The Boy, the Mole, the Fox, and the Horse blends hand-written narrative with dozens of drawings. A modern classic in the vein of The Tao of Pooh, The Alchemist, and The Giving Tree, this charming keepsake will be treasured for generations to come.


The Dog Stars (Vintage Contemporaries) Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780307950475
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Vintage - May 7th, 2013

Hig survived the flu that killed everyone he knows. His wife is gone, his friends are dead. But when a random transmission somehow beams through his radio, the voice ignites a hope deep inside him that a better life—something like his old life—exists.


The Dovekeepers: A Novel Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9781501103711
Availability: Hard to Find - Unlikely to be Available
Published: Pocket Books - March 17th, 2015

Nearly 2,000 years ago, nine hundred Jews held out for months against armies of Romans in the Judean desert. According to the historian Josephus, two women and five children survived. Based on this event, Hoffman spins a tale of four bold, resourceful women—the dovekeepers.


The Overstory: A Novel Cover Image
$18.95
ISBN: 9780393356687
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - April 2nd, 2019

An Air Force loadmaster is shot out of the sky, then saved by falling into a banyan. An artist inherits 100 years of photographs, all of the same doomed American chestnut. An undergraduate in the 1980s electrocutes herself, dies, and is sent back into life by creatures of air and light. A scientist discovers that trees are communicating with one another. These four, and five other strangers—each summoned by trees—are brought together in a last stand to save the continent's remaining acres of virgin forest.


Angle of Repose Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781101872765
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Vintage - November 4th, 2014

Lyman Ward is a retired professor of history, recently confined to a wheelchair by a crippling bone disease and dependant on others for his every need.  Amid the chaos of 1970s counterculture he retreats to his ancestral home of Grass Valley, California, to write the biography of his grandmother: an elegant and headstrong artist and pioneer who, together with her engineer husband, made her own journey through the hardscrabble West nearly a hundred years before. In discovering her story he excavates his own, probing the shadows of his experience and the America that has come of age around him.


The Windup Girl Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781597808217
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Night Shade - May 5th, 2015

Anderson Lake is AgriGen’s Calorie Man, sent to work undercover as a factory manager in Thailand while combing Bangkok’s street markets in search of foodstuffs thought to be extinct, hoping to reap the bounty of history’s lost calories.

Emiko is the Windup Girl, a strange and beautiful creature. Emiko is not human; she is an engineered being, grown and programmed to satisfy the decadent whims of a Kyoto businessman, but now abandoned to the streets of Bangkok. Regarded as soulless beings by some, devils by others, New People are slaves, soldiers, and toys of the rich in this chilling near future in which calorie companies rule the world, the oil age has passed, and the side effects of bio-engineered plagues run rampant across the globe.

What happens when calories become currency? What happens when bio-terrorism becomes a tool for corporate profits and forces mankind to the cusp of post-human evolution? Bacigalupi delivers one of the most highly-acclaimed science fiction novels of the twenty-first century.


The Name of the Wind (Kingkiller Chronicle #1) Cover Image
$19.00
ISBN: 9780756405892
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: DAW - April 7th, 2009

My name is Kvothe.
 
I have stolen princesses back from sleeping barrow kings. I burned down the town of Trebon. I have spent the night with Felurian and left with both my sanity and my life. I was expelled from the University at a younger age than most people are allowed in. I tread paths by moonlight that others fear to speak of during day. I have talked to Gods, loved women, and written songs that make the minstrels weep.
 
You may have heard of me.
 
So begins a tale unequaled in fantasy literature—the story of a hero told in his own voice. It is a tale of sorrow, a tale of survival, a tale of one man’s search for meaning in his universe, and how that search, and the indomitable will that drove it, gave birth to a legend.