Charlie

 

 

Charlie is Amy and Brian’s son and the twin brother of his sister Olivia. Charlie loves animals and is often seen around Ouray visiting all the shop dogs. In addition to working at the bookshop, he volunteers at the library and at the Senior Citizen Monday Lunch. His favorite books to read are ones set in “old-fashioned times,” as he loves history and has a caring heart for those that were children long ago.

 

 

 

Sarah, Plain and Tall Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780062399526
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HarperCollins - March 3rd, 2015

Set in the late 19th century and told from young Anna’s point of view, Sarah, Plain and Tall tells the story of how Sarah Elisabeth Wheaton comes from Maine to the prairie to answer Papa’s advertisement for a wife and mother. Before Sarah arrives, Anna and her younger brother Caleb wait and wonder.

Will Sarah be nice? Will she sing? Will she stay? Perfect for fans of Little House on the Prairie.


Hatchet Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9781416936473
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - December 26th, 2006

Thirteen-year-old Brian Robeson, haunted by his mother’s infidelity, is traveling by single-engine plane to visit his father. The plane crashes, killing the pilot, and Brian is the sole survivor. He is alone in the Canadian wilderness with nothing but his clothing and a hatchet. At first consumed by despair, Brian slowly learns survival skills. When he is rescued 54 days later, he emerges with new maturity.


My Side of the Mountain Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780141312422
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Puffin Books - May 21st, 2001

Sam Gribley is unhappy living in New York City with his family, so he runs away to the Catskill Mountains to live in the woods by himself. With a penknife, cord, forty dollars, and some flint and steel, he intends to survive on his own. Sam learns about courage, danger, and independence during his year in the wilderness, changing his life forever. “An extraordinary book… It will be read year after year.”


The Education of Little Tree Cover Image
$19.95
ISBN: 9780826328090
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: University of New Mexico Press - August 31st, 2001

This is the story of a young orphaned boy who is adopted by his Cherokee grandmother and half- Cherokee grandfather during the Great Depression. “Little Tree” is shown how to hunt and survive in the mountains, and to respect nature in the Cherokee Way.


The Elephant Whisperer: My Life with the Herd in the African Wild Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250007810
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: St. Martin's Griffin - May 22nd, 2012

Lawrence Anthony devoted his life to animal conservation, protecting the world's endangered species. Then he was asked to accept a herd of "rogue" wild elephants on his Thula Thula game reserve in Zululand. His common sense told him to refuse, but he was the herd's last chance of survival: they would be killed if he wouldn't take them.

In order to save their lives, Anthony took them in. In the years that followed he became a part of their family. And as he battled to create a bond with the elephants, he came to realize that they had a great deal to teach him about life, loyalty, and freedom.

The Elephant Whisperer is a heartwarming, exciting, funny, and sometimes sad memoir of Anthony's experiences with these huge yet sympathetic creatures. Set against the background of life on an African game reserve, with unforgettable characters and exotic wildlife, Anthony's unrelenting efforts at animal protection and his remarkable connection with nature will inspire animal lovers and adventurous souls everywhere.


Where the Red Fern Grows Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780440412670
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Yearling - September 1st, 1996

Billy has long dreamt of owning not one, but two, dogs. So when he’s finally able to save up enough money for two pups to call his own—Old Dan and Little Ann—he’s ecstatic. It doesn’t matter that times are tough; together they’ll roam the hills of the Ozarks.
   Soon Billy and his hounds become the finest hunting team in the valley. Stories of their great achievements spread throughout the region, and the combination of Old Dan’s brawn, Little Ann’s brains, and Billy’s sheer will seems unbeatable. But tragedy awaits these determined hunters—now friends—and Billy learns that hope can grow out of despair, and that the seeds of the future can come from the scars of the past.


Sounder Cover Image
$6.99
ISBN: 9780064400206
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HarperCollins - December 30th, 2019

An African American boy and his family rarely have enough to eat. Each night, the boy's father takes their dog, Sounder, out to look for food. The man grows more desperate by the day.

When food suddenly appears on the table one morning, it seems like a blessing. But the sheriff and his deputies are not far behind. The ever-loyal Sounder remains determined to help the family he loves as hard times bear down.

This classic novel shows the courage, love, and faith that bind a family together despite the racism and inhumanity they face in the nineteenth-century deep South.

Readers who enjoy timeless dog stories such as Old Yeller and Where the Red Fern Grows will find much to love in Sounder, even as they read through tears at times.


Among the Hidden (Shadow Children #1) Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780689824753
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - March 1st, 2000

In a future where the Population Police enforce the law limiting a family to only two children, Luke, an illegal third child, has lived all his twelve years in isolation and fear on his family's farm in this start to the Shadow Children series from Margaret Peterson Haddix.

Luke has never been to school. He's never had a birthday party, or gone to a friend's house for an overnight. In fact, Luke has never had a friend.

Luke is one of the shadow children, a third child forbidden by the Population Police. He's lived his entire life in hiding, and now, with a new housing development replacing the woods next to his family's farm, he is no longer even allowed to go outside.

Then, one day Luke sees a girl's face in the window of a house where he knows two other children already live. Finally, he's met a shadow child like himself. Jen is willing to risk everything to come out of the shadows -- does Luke dare to become involved in her dangerous plan? Can he afford not to?


Braiding Sweetgrass Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9781571313560
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Milkweed Editions - September 1st, 2014

As a botanist, Robin Wall Kimmerer has been trained to ask scientific questions of nature. As a member of the Citizen Potawatomi Nation, she embraces the notion that plants and animals are our oldest teachers. In this book, she brings these two lenses of knowledge together.