Charlie

 

 

Charlie is Amy and Brian’s son and the twin brother of his sister Olivia. Charlie loves animals and is often seen around Ouray visiting all the shop dogs. In addition to working at the bookshop, he volunteers at the library and at the Senior Citizen Monday Lunch. His favorite books to read are ones set in “old-fashioned times,” as he loves history and has a caring heart for those that were children long ago.

 

 

 

Perestroika in Paris: A novel Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9780525520351
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Knopf - December 1st, 2020

Paras, short for "Perestroika," is a spirited racehorse at a racetrack west of Paris. One afternoon at dusk, she finds the door of her stall open andshe's a curious fillywanders all the way to the City of Light. She's dazzled and often mystified by the sights, sounds, and smells around her, but she isn't afraid.

Soon she meets an elegant dog, a German shorthaired pointer named Frida, who knows how to get by without attracting the attention of suspicious Parisians. Paras and Frida coexist for a time in the city's lush green spaces, nourished by Frida's strategic trips to the vegetable market. They keep company with two irrepressible ducks and an opinionated raven. But then Paras meets a human boy, Etienne, and discovers a new, otherworldly part of Paris: the ivy-walled house where the boy and his nearly-one-hundred-year-old great-grandmother live in seclusion.

As the cold weather nears, the unlikeliest of friendships bloom. But how long can a runaway horse stay undiscovered in Paris?


Running with Sherman: How a Rescue Donkey Inspired a Rag-tag Gang of Runners to Enter the Craziest Race in America Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780525433255
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Vintage - July 28th, 2020

When Chris McDougall agreed to take in a donkey from an animal hoarder, he found that Sherman was in such bad shape he could barely move. So Chris undertook a radical rehabilitation program designed to heal both Sherman’s body and mind. It turns out, the best way to soothe a donkey is to give it a job. So Chris taught Sherman how to race.


Where the Forest Meets the Stars Cover Image
$14.95
ISBN: 9781503904910
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Lake Union Publishing - March 1st, 2019

After the loss of her mother and her own battle with breast cancer, Joanna Teale returns to her graduate research on nesting birds in Illinois, determined to prove that her recent hardships have not broken her. When a child shows up barefoot and bruised, Joanna enlists the help of her reclusive neighbor to solve the mystery of the charming child.


The Call of the Wild and Other Stories (Word Cloud Classics) Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781626864665
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Canterbury Classics - October 1st, 2015

Powerful stories about the will to survive. 

In Call of the Wild, Buck, a domesticated dog is stolen and sold into sled dog slavery during the 1890s Klondike gold rush in Alaska. Also included are White Fang, The Sea-Wolf and many short stories centered on the Far North. London’s classic tales—often told from the animal’s viewpoint—have been popular for decades.


The One and Only Bob Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780062991317
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HarperCollins - May 5th, 2020

Bob sets out on in search of his long-lost sister with the help of his two best friends, Ivan and Ruby. As a hurricane approaches, he finds new courage and learns the meaning of friendship and family.


Dead Voices Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780525515074
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Puffin Books - June 30th, 2020

New York Times bestselling author Katherine Arden returns with another creepy, spine-tingling adventure in this follow-up to the critically acclaimed Small Spaces. Now in paperback.


The Goldfish Boy Cover Image
$6.99
ISBN: 9781338053937
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Scholastic Inc. - August 28th, 2018

A teenage boy in London struggling with OCD is uniquely qualified to solve a kidnapping in Thompson’s riveting debut novel—a page-turning mystery with a complex character study at its core.


Sarah, Plain and Tall Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780062399526
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HarperCollins - March 3rd, 2015

Set in the late 19th century and told from young Anna’s point of view, Sarah, Plain and Tall tells the story of how Sarah Elisabeth Wheaton comes from Maine to the prairie to answer Papa’s advertisement for a wife and mother. Before Sarah arrives, Anna and her younger brother Caleb wait and wonder.

Will Sarah be nice? Will she sing? Will she stay? Perfect for fans of Little House on the Prairie.


Hatchet Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9781416936473
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - December 26th, 2006

Thirteen-year-old Brian Robeson, haunted by his mother’s infidelity, is traveling by single-engine plane to visit his father. The plane crashes, killing the pilot, and Brian is the sole survivor. He is alone in the Canadian wilderness with nothing but his clothing and a hatchet. At first consumed by despair, Brian slowly learns survival skills. When he is rescued 54 days later, he emerges with new maturity.


My Side of the Mountain Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780141312422
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Puffin Books - May 21st, 2001

Sam Gribley is unhappy living in New York City with his family, so he runs away to the Catskill Mountains to live in the woods by himself. With a penknife, cord, forty dollars, and some flint and steel, he intends to survive on his own. Sam learns about courage, danger, and independence during his year in the wilderness, changing his life forever. “An extraordinary book… It will be read year after year.”


The Education of Little Tree Cover Image
$19.95
ISBN: 9780826328090
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: University of New Mexico Press - August 31st, 2001

This is the story of a young orphaned boy who is adopted by his Cherokee grandmother and half- Cherokee grandfather during the Great Depression. “Little Tree” is shown how to hunt and survive in the mountains, and to respect nature in the Cherokee Way.


The Elephant Whisperer: My Life with the Herd in the African Wild Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250007810
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: St. Martin's Griffin - May 22nd, 2012

Lawrence Anthony devoted his life to animal conservation, protecting the world's endangered species. Then he was asked to accept a herd of "rogue" wild elephants on his Thula Thula game reserve in Zululand. His common sense told him to refuse, but he was the herd's last chance of survival: they would be killed if he wouldn't take them.

In order to save their lives, Anthony took them in. In the years that followed he became a part of their family. And as he battled to create a bond with the elephants, he came to realize that they had a great deal to teach him about life, loyalty, and freedom.

The Elephant Whisperer is a heartwarming, exciting, funny, and sometimes sad memoir of Anthony's experiences with these huge yet sympathetic creatures. Set against the background of life on an African game reserve, with unforgettable characters and exotic wildlife, Anthony's unrelenting efforts at animal protection and his remarkable connection with nature will inspire animal lovers and adventurous souls everywhere.